Some last Rays of Sunshine this Summer

…because my summer break will be officially over in just a couple of days. On the other hand, it’ll be nice to return to studying because at least then I have something regular to do. But on the other my studies keep me away from my hometown and my friends and loved ones and some of my very beloved hobbies for the majority of the time. So yeah, not all great. But anyway, the point of this post is that I was nominated once more for the Sunshine Blogger Award by the awesome livinasimminlife (award post here)! Check out her richly built world and intriguing, well-written stories if you haven’t already:
Kassiopeia Fullbright Mystery Series
Livin’ a Simmin’ Life -blog

the-sunshinebloggeraward1

The rules of the award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers and add their links.
  • Notify the bloggers you include.
  • Keep the rules in your post.

Here’s my original Sunshine post, so check that out for my nominees and my questions!

And now onto the answers:

  1. If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life?
    Probably travel around and frequently change my identity so nobody would figure out my secret. Or then I’d start a private dojo somewhere in the depths of some forest and become a crazy yet cool martial arts master. 😀 I think eventually I’d just get really, really bored and lonely. I’d probably become that anyway, unless some of my loved ones or friends could live forever too.
  2. What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?
    Hmm… I’m actually not that interested in playing with the supernaturals, though writing Tango has made me appreciate them a lot more. I’m gonna say fairies, because I like how they fly around and because I just really like fairies in general. Also their wings are nice.
  3. Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why? I don’t know… I really like the very interesting and sometimes dysfunctional but still loving couples from Trip and rednenemon’s stories (Eight Cicadas, The Racket-Rotter Chronicles).
  4. What’s your favorite Sims world and why?
    I’ve really fallen in love with Riverview. It reminds me of home and I like this small countryside town aesthetic. Though I really, really like Twinbrook too because swamps for the win! And Bridgeport has its charm with its big city theme and the different feel it has compared to almost any other town. I also think Roaring Heights and Monte Vista look really nice, but I haven’t played them because I don’t want to buy the store worlds.
  5. If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?
    The Normandy SR-2 from the Mass Effect -series. Provided it came with the awesome and lovable crew of Mass Effect 2.
  6. What is currently on your reading list?
    I should finish Syötäväksi kasvatetut by Elina Lappalainen, which is a non-fiction book about meat-production in Finland. I’m also in the middle of reading the first book in the Witcher -series by Andrzej Sapkowski, AND I should also read the last three Sandman comics by Neil Gaiman. After that I think I’m going to continue with both the aforementioned Witcher -series, and a detective series by Kristina Ohlsson. And then… well, we’ll see what I’ll feel like. I’ll probably soon also read The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck by Don Rosa for the (roughly estimated :D) hundredth time again because I love it soooooo much.
  7. Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?
    Yes. Depends on what I’m writing and if I want a specific feel to it. If I don’t have anything specific in mind, I’ll just listen to something by Porcupine Tree or Steven Wilson, or possibly Apulanta or something from Silent Hill -soundtracks. Lately I’ve also been listening to a lot of The Pineapple Thief, while writing.
  8. What SimLit character do you find most inspirational? So many. I think that, for example, CathyTea’s stories seem to have whole worlds full of inspirational characters, with very nice, loving attitudes towards life and so much positive energy despite a lot of them facing hardships. On the other hand, I’m also inspired by people living with darker thoughts and lifestyles and still finding moments of happiness and compassion, like in Trip and rednenemon’s stories (again). I especially find rednenemon’s take on Dennis Racket inspiring in this way. livinasimminlife’s Kass, Davis, and Gage are also very inspiring with how real they seem to be, and how they all have their own hardships and flaws but they still find ways to get through life. But, like I said, there are so many inspirational Sims I can’t really pick one.
  9. What culture would you like to learn more about and why?
    Any culture, because I love cultures and I love finding out more about them. But I’ve got a special interest in the Mayan and Irish cultures. Not sure why those, but they just interest me a lot. The languages and the stories about them definitely have something to do with that. I also want to learn more about old Japanese culture mostly because it’s closely connected to karate, which is one of my beloved hobbies/lifestyles. Also I’d like to learn more about the old Finnish culture because it’s interesting, and it’s fun to know the roots of one’s own people. And connected to that, old (and also modern) Scandinavian and Slavic cultures because of their close connection to Finnish culture, plus their really interesting history and lifestyles! And shamans!
  10. What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?
    Happiest:
    I remember that when I was a younger, more materialistic kid, I’d love those moments when I got a new expansion pack. It wasn’t just because yay, new stuff, but because there was just so much excitement in that moment when I’d look at the game that was still in its packaging, and wonder what it would hold. Gameplay-wise… I don’t remember. I have many happy moments. Usually I just get happy for my Sims whenever they get over a more difficult moment.
    Saddest:
    Probably the first time a Sim died, though I don’t remember it well. I think I managed not to permanently kill Sims in TS1, but during TS2, I started to accept my Sims dying, even though it was still sad.
    Sappiest:
    I remember back in TS2, when I wanted to have a couple go on a perfect date, so to score points in it or whatever it was that TS2 was counting to rank the success level of the date, I made them be so sappily romantic all the time that I think a part of my brain was caramelised from just watching it. The couple even got engaged via a romantic proposal over dinner, even though it was only their first or second date! But hey, the game said the date was awesome so… win?
  11. What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?Writer’s block and the moments when I think my story sucks and should be burned. Though that happens with anything I write or otherwise create. I get over it by taking a step back and maybe rereading things with a slightly different mindset and then maybe do some edits that are needed, or then just find some good things about my writing. Otherwise I have to say that I am occasionally pretty nervous about communicating with people through my blog or the forums. I’m a bit nervous about communicating in general, though, sometimes.

Have a lovely time, people. I’ll try to be back soon with an update!

11 thoughts on “Some last Rays of Sunshine this Summer

    • Thanks!

      I’ve enjoyed the first book so far. I’m almost done with it and I plan to read at least the second one after that. But if I feel like reading further, my roommate has them all just waiting to be borrowed (which is where I got the first book to begin with).

      Liked by 1 person

      • you should definitely read them all 😀 the stories are interesting, a lot of Slavic mythology (I saw above you are interested in Slavic culture :D), the characters are great, Geralt is great 😀 and there are some deeper themes behind it all as well, I am recommending them to anyone I come across 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you for your lovely recommendations and I loved reading all your answers. I feel like I got to know you a little better through your post here. I love CathyTea’s characters too and Trip’s and rednenemon’s also. I never thought about changing the identity thing, but that’s an excellent point. If you started a dojo in the woods I’d come visit you and finally take those lessons I’ve been wanting. (I gave up… well, my mother made me give up after a few lessons when I was a kid because I practiced on the lawn chairs and broke a bunch of them). I feel like I don’t deserve the high praise you gave my characters in KCLKF and KFLL, but I’m glad they feel real to you because I was hoping for authenticity in dialogue, manner, personality, and action. I am interested in Irish culture, mostly because of my heritage, and I know little about that side of the family due to former estrangement, and I’m slowly learning more. I also am equally fascinated and frustrated with Japanese culture, mostly because it’s so different, and yet so intriguing because it’s so different. Thanks for answering.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Thank YOU for the award and the questions!

      Oh no! The poor lawn chairs! I don’t think I’ve ever broken any furniture with my practising… just bruised myself and my friends while training. Okay, there also was this one time when I accidentally knocked some cup or glass (I forget which) to the floor and broke it while practising with a stick. Also it’s never too late to start or restart martial arts training if you feel like giving it another shot! I’ve been practising wadoruy-karate for over ten years now and it never stops being rewarding (and frustrating too, but it’s part of the rewarding-ness).

      I really think that your characters are very believable and feel like actual people instead of characters. I really like that. It’s also really hard to pull off, even though one would think that people know what it’s like to be people. But you write authentic characters really well.

      I love Irish culture, and my love for it grew exponentially while I was an exchange student in Ireland a few years ago. Ireland feels like another home for me now, even though I haven’t spent that much time there (five months), all things considered.

      Like

      • You are welcome.
        Yep those lawn chairs were worse for the wear when I finished, over several sessions, and I had warning and everything too. I was a stubborn child.
        I should bite the bullet and do it when I have the time and money. I’d like to learn. Any recommendations on where to start?
        Thank you so much. I really appreciate your kind words. Wow! I am honored you like my characters so much and they feel real to you. I love how believable your characters are too – particularly Amelia. I can just picture us being friends. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • I guess a good starting point would be to see what kinds of dojos/clubs are close to you and what they offer and think about what kind of martial arts you want to practise. The quality of technique and teaching varies A LOT in different clubs/dojos, though, so one might want to maybe see what their websites look like and all before going there.

        🙂 Thank you for you kind words too!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Let’s start an online dojo in the Art Commune Circle and you can be our sensei!

    Also, it’s awesome the way that so many of us are taken right now with InfraGreen and rednenemon’s couples! I think that you, AdamsEve, and I all answered something with their characters.

    And thanks for your kind words about my Sims, too.

    It’s so fun to read your answers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure how an online dojo would work. Although, internet self-defence IS very important! Remember, my dear students, don’t give away your personal information to just anyone. 😀

      Infra and red do write very interesting and lovable couples. Also you’re welcome and thank YOU for writing so many amazing stories and being lovely. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

