The Pen Pal Project: Tad’s Profile

Screenshot-371

Name: Thanatos Dustpine, though you may also call me Tad.

Select your age bracket: Old Enough

Profession: I help beings transition to a new phase in existence and try to support them through rather traumatic and stressful circumstances. So you could call me a spiritual guide, I suppose. I am also a gardener.

How many pen pals are you interested in acquiring? Two or three would suffice.

What qualities do you seek in a pen pal? I consider myself very open-minded, and I would like for my pen pals to have a similar open-mindedness, or at least the ability to not be too intimidated by the new or the unknown. I am not the most socially adept of persons, so I would also ask for some patience. I am looking for someone who would like to share something about their views and experiences on life and the world and… anything, really. We do not need to become close friends, if that sounds too intimidating. I do not know if getting to know someone through words on paper or on a screen makes it easier or more difficult than meeting face-to-face. In any case, all I am asking for is connection. That is what this all is about, right?

Also I suppose I need someone who does not mind getting hand-written letters. Technology and I simply do not get along. Just making this profile took a great deal of concentration and help from a friend of mine. Thankfully nothing blew up.

Do you have a desire to meet your pen pal face-to-face? Eventually.

Please describe, in as much detail as possible, your reason for wanting to join the pen pal project: The friend who helped me set this profile up also got me into this, so I have her to thank for joining. But I should not put the blame – or praise – solely on her, even though she does deserve all the praise I could give her, for she is a lovely person and a great friend. But some of the blame is on myself too, for I got curious. I had heard about this project through quite a few channels. It has spread to all corners of the Earth, it seems, and even beyond that. It has been connecting individuals who would not otherwise even know about the possibility of each others’ existences. And they seem to get along very well.

Is this simply the power of a trend mixed with technology? The allure of communicating with strangers in order to make them less strange? Perhaps. I have seen the combinations of these things seep through the layers of complicated societies before. Or is this something more? A tangible force created through the desire to communicate? A powerful being able to transcend  the limitations of space, time, and universes? Whatever it is, it seems to be a benevolent force, or at least strive towards that. Its Purpose seems to be connection. Friendly connection. I like that.

I have some friends, but I have been told that I should expand my social circle. And while I prefer a few close friends to an army of impersonal acquaintances pretending to be friends, I agree that a few more friends definitely would not hurt. So to put it simply: I am quite lonely, and having a new being to talk to would be nice.

Anything else? There is a lot else to be said, of course, but I would much rather talk more through the actual correspondence. I hope I did not scare you away. Apparently a profile like this should give a clear idea of the kind of person I am while also leaving some questions. Something to make people interested. I hope I succeeded. I have not done this kind of thing before.

10 thoughts on “The Pen Pal Project: Tad’s Profile

  1. Pingback: Forgotten Art: Gee-Jay – Tad 1 | Cathy Tea's SimLit Anthology

Leave a Reply

